DCBS | BOARD

DCBS Board of Management

Keith Bailey

CHAIR

Shoppers Drug Mart

T: 709 834-2111
E: asdm570@shoppersdrugmart.ca

Matthew Lawrence

VICE CHAIR

Owner, EDUCO Education

T: 709 685-6192
E: matthew@educoeducation.ca

Kathy Evans

SECRETAEY TREASURER

General Manager
Royal Newfoundland Yacht Club
T: 709 834-5151
E: manager@rnyc.nf.ca

Jacqui Morgan

DIRECTOR

Villa Nova Plaza

T: 709 834-2715
E: jmorgan@morgangroupnl.com

Christine Hand

DIRECTOR

Owner, Home Hardware

T: 709 834-8621
E: chand@handyman.nf.ca

Paul Heffernan

DIRECTOR

Store Manager, Sobeys Long Pond

T: 709 834-9052
E: paul.heffernan@sobeys.com

Dafna Ziv

DIRECTOR

Commercial Business Advisor
Newfoundland and Labrador Credit Union

T: 709 758-0944
E: dziv@nlcu.com

Jackie McCann-Scott

DIRECTOR

Owner, Lupin Planning Group


T: 709 781-4886
E: jackie@lupinplanninggroup.ca

Darin Steeves

DIRECTOR

Co-Owner, Dawes Plumbing and Heating


T: 709 834-5568
E: darin.steeves@dawesnl.ca

Councillor Shelley Moores

TOWN COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVE

Ward 1, Town of Conception Bay South


T: 709 743-2177
E: Shelley.Moores@conceptionbaysouth.ca

Margo Soucy

EX-OFFICIO DIRECTOR

Executive Director Cabot CBDC


T: 709 834-1000
E: margo.soucy@cbdc.ca

Jennifer Lake Ec.D.(F)

EX-OFFICIO DIRECTOR

Director of Economic Development and Tourism
Town of Conception Bay South

T: 709 834-6500 ext. 702
E: jennifer.lake@conceptionbaysouth.ca

Rebecca Casey, B.Comm., MSc

DIRECTOR

Economic Development Coordinator
Economic Development and Tourism
Town of Conception Bay South
T: 709 834-6500 ext. 703
E: Rebecca.Casey@conceptionbaysouth.ca

Julia Bloomquist

DIRECTOR

Executive Director
CBA Chamber of Commerce

T: 709 834-5670
E: info@cbachamber.com

Rick Austin

SOCIAL MEDIA MARKETING & COMMUNICATIONS

Downtown Conception Bay South


T: 709 693-8447
E: rick.austin@rickaustin.ca

About Us

The [Downtown] Conception Bay South Business Improvement Association (DCBS) represents 120 businesses in the Town of Conception Bay South located along the Conception Bay Highway (Route 60) from Manuels River Intepretation Centre to the Terminal Road boundary west of the Town Hall, who have come together to mutually support, improve, and grow business activity in the Downtown district.

The DCBS Board of Management is comprised of volunteer business owners and managers dedicated to fulfilling the mandate of the Association; that being the support and engagement of the Downtown CBS membership in the marketing and promotion of their business and the Downtown district to visitors, clients, customers, and prospective investors. and new businesses.

Beginnings

“The Conception Bay South Business Improvement Association” was established by the the Town of Conception Bay South on January 15, 2019 under the direction of then Mayor Terry French; the name specified under Article 5, section “b” of the Conception Bay South Business Improvement Regulations, “Establishement of a Board of Management”.

The Regulations detail eligibility for membership in the Association and election to the Board as well as the rules of of hiring of employees, engagement of advisors, and submission of expenditure estimates to Council.

Looking Forward

As part of the DCBS Strategic Planning initiative of February 2023, The Downtown Conception Bay South Business Improvement Association (DCBS) has planned and implemented a number of ongoing Programs and Initiatives. These include Marketing and Promotions in the form of radio ad campaigns, signage and pole banners, trail markers, and branded street signs, as well as event planning and facilitation.

In the Fall of 2023 the Board hired a Director of Social Media and Communications and has since undertaken a rebranding of the downtown marketing materials and online media in particular the Downtown CBS web site including updating and functional enhancement of the Business Directory.

Ongoing Programs include communications and outreach initiatives, the beautification program, and marketing administered through the Executive, Action Plan, and Marketing Committees. Details of DCBS Programs and Unities are included in the For Members section of the web site.